13) Our Idiot Brother [6.0]

Every family has one: the sibling who is always just a little bit behind the curve when it comes to getting his life together. For three sisters, that person is their perennially upbeat brother Ned (Paul Rudd), an erstwhile organic farmer whose willingness to rely on the honesty of mankind is a less-than-optimum strategy for a tidy, trouble-free existence. (2011)

There’s a quote from the television show Community where Joel McHale’s character says “To me, religion is like Paul Rudd. I see the appeal, and I would never take it away from anyone. But I would also never stand in line for it.” It’s a funny quote, but one that I disagree with–I love Paul Rudd, and he’s been great in virtually everything I’ve seen him in (especially Wet Hot American Summer). He’s the best part of Our Idiot Brother, an okay film that has a saccharine ending that I didn’t appreciate. Everything gets tied up too neatly, and characters dramatically change their views on Rudd’s Ned in the span of two minutes. Script issues aside, Our Idiot Brother is a decent movie that is saved by Rudd’s performance.

1 comment
  1. Staci and I watched this not too long ago, and I thought the plot was a mess and the ensemble cast, though all fairly stellar actors whom I like, especially Coogan, felt like too much crammed into too small a movie. None of them got to be developed sufficiently.

    That said, I find myself liking it more in retrospect. It was funny and enjoyable and, as you said, I love Paul Rudd.

    I really disliked the ending with the dogs in the park. It should have just ended with the candle conversation on the front porch.

Leave a Reply

